Riverside School works closely with four other local sixth forms, which allows students a wider range of choice when looking at what subjects they want to study. Subjects may be based in any of the other four schools in our partnership. The schools are:

  • Sydney Russell School
  • Eastbury School
  • Jo Richardson School
  • Dagenham Park School


Most students will be doing 3 linear A-Level courses plus EPQ during year 12. Students will pick something from each of the 4 blocks. The precise make up of each student’s courses and timetable will be finally decided in light of GCSE results and in discussion with the Director of Sixth Form. To start A-Level courses, students will need the appropriate Attainment 8 score from their GCSEs including grade 5 for both GCSE English and maths. (Students with grade 4 will also be considered but their course choice will be more limited.) If the A-Level is a subject taken at GCSE the student should have a 5 or more in that subject. For maths A-Level students will need a 6 in the higher tier GCSE, and also pass the entry exam, science students will also need maths GCSE 5 plus a 6  in the science they wish to study.

Students who have completed their GCSEs at Riverside School but may not be suited to linear A-Level courses can apply to a variety of courses at the partnership schools. Level 1 courses are available at Dagenham Park School and vocational courses which include BTECs are an option at Jo Richardson School, Eastbury School and Dagenham Park School.

The curriculum subjects currently being offered for teaching at Riverside School are the following:

ALevel Subjects

  • Maths
  • English Literature
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Physics
  • Spanish
  • Geography
  • History
  • Art
  • Economics
  • Business
  • Psychology
  • Sociology
  • Law
  • Computing
  • Further Maths


Other Level 3

  • Extended Project Qualification


BTEC Level 3

  • Extended Diploma in Sport